IU trident Indiana University

IU-MSI STEM Initiative header

IU-MSI STEM Initiative

STEM Summer Scholars Institute 2016 Overview


In the tenth consecutive year, the IU-MSI STEM Initiative (previously called the IU-HBCU STEM Initiative) hosted the STEM Summer Scholars Institute (SSI). Twenty-six students from partner institutions participated in the 2016 Institute. These students began the summer with orientation activities designed to bond participants together for their summer of research.

Students arrived on Friday, June 3 for the weekend at Bradford Woods and the staff reported that the larger group "was still very easy to work with" and the participants "were very engaging." On Sunday, June 5th, twelve students went to the IUPUI campus and 14 students went to the Bloomington campus to settle in campus apartments; this was the most balanced distribution across the two core campuses since the very first year of the program. On Monday, June 5th, students met their mentors at a welcoming luncheon on each campus and were then escorted to the research labs. Of the 26 participants in the 2016 Summer Scholars Institute, five were returning for a second year.

The 2016 Summer Scholars represented the following institutions (numbers from each represented in parentheses): Alabama A&M University (2), Hampton University (1), Indiana University Bloomington (4), Jackson State University (16), Morgan State University (1), North Carolina A&T State University (1), North Carolina Central University (1), and Xavier University of Louisiana (1).

2016 STEM SSI Participants

Three former Summer Scholars Institute participants --Byron Gipson, Crystal Boston-Clay, and Delawrence Sykes, who are also enrolled in the Ph.D. programs at Indiana University, served as Ambassadors and mentors for the 2016 Institute participants.

During the course of the summer, Scholars had access to library resources, student recreation facilities, computing systems, research labs, campus bus service, and dining facilities. Students had numerous opportunities to gather as a group at:

  • GRE Seminars
  • Wednesday Lunch Research Seminars
  • Poster Presentation skills training
  • Research symposium at IU Bloomington
  • Historical Preservations Trip
  • Holiday World Trip

Participants of the IU-MSI STEM Summer Scholars Institute completed their summer program on July 29th with a closing luncheon at Hine Hall on the IUPUI campus. Faculty mentors, university administrators and staff were present to support these future researchers, who presented posters of their summer projects. Additionally, faculty members from the partner institutions, who were part of the inaugural Faculty Research Development Institute (FRDI), attended the poster presentation and closing luncheon. FRDI was funded by the Office of Naval Research grant to support faculty collaborations.

The 2016 IU-MSI STEM Summer Scholars Cohort

Scholar Home Institution Mentor Campus
Amanuel Faris Jackson State University Euzeli dos Santos IUPUI
Ariel Craft Jackson State University Travis Jerde IUPUI
Ashley Anderson Indiana University Bloomington Heather Hundley IUB
Bemnet Tirfagegnehu Jackson State University Jian Xie IUPUI
Brooklyn Sloss Indiana University Bloomington Selma Sabanovic IUB
Emilia Oben Jackson State University Heather Hundley IUB
Eugena Grigsby Jackson State University Robyn Fuchs IUPUI
Imani Crawford Alabama A&M University Robyn Fuchs IUPUI
Jesus Bazan Indiana University Bloomington Malcolm Winkler IUB
Johnny Chapman Jackson State University Euzeli dos Santos IUPUI
Joseph Owusu Jackson State University Steven Lulich IUB
Kim Navarro Indiana University Bloomington Mary Murphy IUB
Kingsley Bimpeh Jackson State University Yuichiro Takagi IUPUI
Kirubel Benalfew Jackson State University Larry Moss IUB
LaPrince-Miller Smith North Carolina Central University Emilia Martins IUB
Leelena Asfaw Jackson State University Jian Xie IUPUI
Lidya Worede Jackson State University Bodgan Dragnea IUB
Nardos Tadele Jackson State University Bodgan Dragnea IUB
Paris Smith Jackson State University Jeffrey Meier IUB
Sabirah Muhammad North Carolina A&T State University Andrew Kusmierczyk IUPUI
Sabrina Welch Jackson State University Steven Lulich IUB
Sacha Williams Alabama A&M University Steven Lulich IUB
Taylor Cole Hampton University Heather Bradshaw IUB
Tobiloba Komolafe Morgan State University Euzeli dos Santos IUPUI
Ujjwal Baskota Jackson State University James Hill IUPUI
Yoseph Hailemariam Jackson State University Jian Xie IUPUI

Sarah Larson
Program Coordinator
IU-MSI STEM Initiative
Indiana University

Dr. Jack L. Schmit
Assistant Dean, University Graduate School
Coordinator, IU-MSI STEM Initiative